AANAC Webinars

AANAC webinars are hosted throughout the year, as important topics and regulatory changes arise. Led by thought leaders in the field, you can be assured you are getting guidance you can trust to do your job correctly and efficiently.

Visit the recorded webinar library to purchase recently recorded webinars.

Putting the Interrupted Stay Policy into Play

Continuing Education: This webinar is eligible for 1.5 CE hours.
Date: July 31, 2019 - 2 pm ET, (1 pm CT, noon MT, 11 am PT)

Speaker: Jessie McGill, RN, RAC-MTA, RAC-MT Jessie McGill has no conflicts of interest to disclose. 

Live webinars are complimentary to AANAC members. The cost for non-members to attend is $99 (Learn more about membership)

The Patient-Driven Payment Model (PDPM) is coming this October and with it the Interrupted Stay Policy, which determines when Medicare will treat multiple SNF stays as one single “interrupted” stay, rather than separate stays. During this 90-minute webinar, we will divulge the details of this new policy and explore several case studies—learning how an interrupted stay will be applied, the billing implications, the impact on the variable per diem, and the effect on the PPS schedule. Nurse assessment coordinators (NACs) will develop the skills needed to track interrupted stays, adjust the schedules of both the OBRA and PPS assessments, and ensure appropriate billing during the interruption window. Get ahead of the curve – join us for this informative, clarifying program! 

Objectives: 

  • Learn the criteria of the Interrupted Stay Policy and the definition of the interruption window. 

  • Review the impact an interrupted stay will have on the PPS and OBRA assessment schedules and the variable per diem rates. 

  • Understand the application of an interrupted stay through a series of case studies. 

  • Gain strategies for success and appropriate billing when an interrupted stay occurs.

Registration closes at midnight ET on July 30. If you have registered for this webinar, you do not need to login to AANAC.org on the day of the webinar. You'll find access instructions and links in your registration confirmation email.