Celebrating 15 Years of LTC
Remember Me  Forgot password?

Are you ready to certify your MDS 3.0 knowledge?

Everything you need to know about learning and earning your RAC-CT® certification.

The Resident Assessment Coordinator—Certified (RAC-CT) education and certification program has long set the national standard for skilled nursing facility PPS and MDS 3.0 education. Constantly reviewed and updated by a team of experts, the RAC-CT program ensures your knowledge of clinical assessment and care planning, completion of the MDS, and the regulatory body surrounding the RAI/MDS process.

  • Navigate tough coding dilemmas with the most current coding and regulatory knowledge 
  • Recover reimbursement and avoid overpayment by knowing where to find important MDS data
  • Proactively solve quality pitfalls by recognizing the clues reflected in your Quality Measure and Five Star reports
  • Uncover unique solutions that honor resident preference by synthesizing MDS, CAA, and care plan data into individualized interventions
  • Earn respect in your facility by proving that you are dedicated, capable, and knowledgeable
  • Gain confidence that will enable you to take a leadership role in resident care 

Save 5% immediately by purchasing an easy-click RAC-CT set.

AANAC members receive significant discounts on education products. Learn about benefits of membership and join today.
Learn about Laura and the value of the RAC-CT
program in the Value of Certification Kit.


RAC-CT Core Curriculum

The RAC-CT program consists of 10 education courses designed for long-term care professionals with at least six months of experience with the MDS/RAI process. To earn the RAC-CT credential, you must successfully complete the ten associated final certification exams with a score of 80% or higher. Recertification is required every two years. 

  • MDS 3.0 Coding for OBRA and PPS (CEs - 5)     Summary
  • Accurately Assessing Functional Status and the MDS 3.0 (CEs - 2)     Summary
  • Care Area Assessments and the MDS 3.0 (CEs - 2)     Summary
  • Care Planning and the MDS 3.0 (CEs - 2)     Summary
  • OBRA Timing and Scheduling for the MDS 3.0 (CEs - 2)     Summary
  • PPS Timing and Scheduling for the MDS 3.0 (CEs - 2)     Summary
  • Resource Utilization Groups IV (RUG-IV) and the MDS 3.0 (CEs - 3)     Summary
  • Introduction to Medicare Part A (CEs - 2.5)     Summary
  • Quality Measures and the MDS 3.0 (CEs - 2.9)     Summary
  • The Five-Star Quality Rating System (CEs - 2)     Summary
Purchased courses and associated certification exams can be found in AANAClassroom.
Your satisfaction is our number one priority, review our course return and refund policy.

Save 5% when you purchase an easy-click ten-course RAC-CT set.



Still have questions?

Check out our Education frequently asked questions or email us at education@AANAC.org

Course Formats

AANAC provides a format that fits your learning style. Every format offers immediate access to online quizzes and the final exam (except the Reference Manual format). 

$550 Member / $750 Non-member

  • Complete the final exams online after receiving live instruction from a Master Teacher

$45 Member / $90 Non-member

$65 Member / $130 Non-member

  • Complete the course and final exam online, and print a PDF of each course manual for future reference


$69–89 Member / $139–179 Non-member

  • Complete the final exam online and keep the course manual for future reference
    (Shipping and handling is additional)

$69–89 Member / $139–179 Non-member

  • Take any course without a final certification exam and build a reference library in your facility
    (Shipping and handling is additional)