non -

Awards and Professional Development Grants

For over 15 years, AANAC has been awarding the best and brightest in long-term care with awards and professional development grants to recognize their dedication and commitment to improving long-term care and the lives of residents. Do you work with someone outstanding? Recognize their great work by nominating them for one of the AANAC awards or apply for one of the AANAC professional development grants yourself!

Why recognize someone deserving?

Why should you nominate yourself or someone else for an AANAC award or professional development grant? In the video below, our 2016 winners tell you what that recognition meant to them and what it can mean for someone else!


Please note that in 2017 scholarships were renamed Professional Development Grants.

2018 Awards and Professional Development Grants

Awards and Professional Development Grants Application Process

Thank you for your interest in submitting an application for the 2018 Awards and Professional Development Grants. The application forms will open on October 9, 2017. If you have questions about the application process, requirements, or if you are interested in serving on the Awards and Professional Development Grants Committee, please reach out to Shannon Johnson. If you would like to be notified when the applications are open, please submit the form below.


AANAC Awards

  • Nurse Assessment Coordinator of the Year
  • Director of Nursing of the Year
  • Nursing Home Administrator of the Year
  • Best Practice of the Year

The winner of each of these awards will receive a complimentary registration to the 2018 Annual Conference and a travel stipend.

AANAC Professional Development Grants

  • President's Grant - Complimentary registration for the online ten-course RAC-CT certification program
  • Founder's Grant - Complimentary registration to the 2018 AANAC Annual Conference and a travel stipend
  • Rena R. Shephard Grant - Complimentary registration to the 2018 Annual Conference for a first-time attendee and a travel stipend

LTC Nursing Education Foundation Scholarships

  • Nursing Assistant of the Year Scholarship Program (Sponsored by Cerner)
  • Cheryl M. Thomas Grant (Supported by the friends and family of Cheryl M. Thomas and Cerner) - $5,000 toward a BSN program